The 2017 RISE Scholars

The nine 2017 RISE Scholars are listed below, along with their home universities and the institutions at which their awards were held.

  Melissa Chassé
McMaster University

Light-Induced Alcohol Oxidation via Gold Nanoparticle-Doped Niobium Oxide Perovskites

with Dr. Geniece Hallett-Tapley, St. Frances Xavier University

Menandro Cruz
University of Toronto

Photoinduced Doping of Activated Glass Wool with Metal Nanoparticles for Organic Transformations

with Dr. Tito Scaiano, University of Ottawa

  Scott Foster
University of Ottawa

The Effects of Halogen Substituents and Heteroatoms on the Kinetics of Catalyst Transfer Polycondensation of 3-Alkylchalcogenophenes

with Dr. Dwight Seferos, University of Toronto

Frances Gu
University of British Columbia

Investigating the Enhancement of S2 Emission of Zinc Tetraphenylporphyrin with Silver Nanoparticles

with Dr. Matt Paige, University of Saskatchewan

  Ama Lawson
University of Prince Edward Island

Synthesis, Characterization and Dye Quantification of the Surface of Silica Nanoparticles

with Dr. Linda Johnson, National Research Council of Canada

Jacob McNeil
University of Prince Edward Island

Pushing the Boundaries of Iridium-Based and Metal-Free Photoredox Catalysis

with Dr. Mathieu Frenette, Université du Québec à Montréal

  Ruben Mirzoyan
University of Toronto

A New Approach to Probing Weak Molecular Interactions: Investigating Halogen Bonding using Magnetic Circular Dichroism (MCD)

with Dr. Pierre Kennepohl, University of British Columbia

Jessica Mo
McMaster University

The Investigation of Non-Aqueous Solvents as a Potential Medium for Host-Guest Inclusion using Fluorescence Spectroscopy

with Dr. Brian Wagner, University of Prince Edward Island


  Amir Yeganeh
McMaster University

Distance Dependent Enhancement of Cyclodextrin-Gold Nanoparticle Drug Delivery System

with Dr. Belinda Heyne, University of Calgary

Back to: RISE HomePage